What CE Marking Does and Does Not Tell You About a Crane Scale

The P6 3T crane scale carries a CE mark, and a CE certificate has been confirmed by the supplier. That is the complete confirmed claim. It does not, on its own, establish UKCA status, compliance with an employer's LOLER duties, legal-for-trade approval, calibration, proof-load testing or suitability for every lifting arrangement. A UK buyer should treat the mark as one part of a product evidence check, not as a shortcut for every purchasing and workplace decision.
Additional manual details: The supplied OCS manual lists kg, lb and N unit selection, Hold, Zero/Tare, display-brightness adjustment, Add/totalisation and Inquiry for the last 10 weighing records. It gives a 3–7 second reading-stabilisation time and a -10°C to 40°C service-temperature range. These are manual-stated operating details; follow the supplied instructions for the exact unit.
What is confirmed for the P6?
The confirmed product is the P6 or OCS-P6 3T English-panel version, with a 3,000 kg rated capacity and stated accuracy of 0.5 kg. The CE mark is present, and the supplier has confirmed a CE certificate.
Record those facts without recasting them as third-party or workplace approval. The current GOV.UK guidance on placing UKCA or CE marked products on the Great Britain market explains that the applicable conformity route, marking and documentation depend on the product and regulations involved. It also identifies separate responsibilities for manufacturers, importers and distributors.
A buyer should check what the supplier's certificate actually is. Its model identification should match the unit, while its stated legislation, standards, issuing party, date and signatory should be read rather than inferred. Where a declaration of conformity is required, that declaration and applicable product documentation matter; the visible mark alone does not reveal their scope.
What does CE marking not establish?
CE marking does not answer every question created by suspended weighing. It does not confirm that the crane, hoist, lifting point, scale, connections and load attachment form a suitable arrangement. The P6's 3,000 kg rating applies to the total suspended load passing through it; every other part still needs its own verified capacity, fit and intended-use decision.
It also does not establish UKCA status. UKCA and CE are distinct markings, although current Great Britain rules recognise CE marking for a range of product regulations. The correct route depends on the product, applicable regulation, market and economic operator's role. Northern Ireland has separate arrangements. Use current GOV.UK sector guidance rather than treating “sold in the UK” as one marking test.
CE marking is not a LOLER certificate. The Health and Safety Executive's LOLER guidance covers workplace duties for lifting equipment and operations, including proper planning, appropriate supervision, safe execution and thorough examination. A product mark cannot replace the lifting plan, risk assessment, inspection arrangements, thorough examination or competent-person decisions.
Nor does CE marking demonstrate calibration or proof-load testing. Calibration evidence concerns measurement performance and traceability for a defined purpose. Proof-load evidence concerns a specified test and the item or arrangement covered. Neither a calibration certificate nor proof-load documentation is confirmed for the P6. Buyers who require either must verify the exact document.
The mark also does not establish legal-for-trade status. GOV.UK provides separate guidance on approved weighing and measuring equipment used for trade. The P6 is intended here for internal load checking and suspended weighing; it is not stated to be legal for trade. If a reading will determine price or another regulated transaction, confirm the applicable legal metrology requirements and approved equipment before use.
Which documents should procurement still check?
Use this table as a document-routing tool, not a compliance verdict. Requirements vary with the product route, supply chain, workplace and measurement decision.
| Decision to make | Evidence or record to request | What the CE mark does not decide |
|---|---|---|
| Is the supplied product correctly identified? | Order, model identification, product markings, manual and documents referring to the P6 3T version. | Whether a generic or different-model document applies. |
| Which conformity route applies? | Applicable product regulations, declaration or conformity documentation, economic operator details and current GOV.UK sector guidance. | UKCA status, the Northern Ireland route or every operator's responsibility. |
| Can it enter the lifting arrangement? | Confirmed ratings, interface information, instructions, inspection status, risk assessment and lifting plan. | Fit, alignment, headroom, connection suitability or another component's capacity. |
| What workplace examination is required? | The organisation's LOLER assessment, thorough-examination arrangements, reports and competent-person decisions. | LOLER compliance or a universal examination interval. |
| Is the reading suitable? | Defined measurement tolerance and required calibration evidence or traceability record. | Calibration status or whether stated 0.5 kg accuracy meets the purpose. |
| Is proof-load evidence required? | A requested record identifying the item, method, load, date and responsible party. | That a test occurred or one record covers the complete arrangement. |
| Will weight determine price or a regulated transaction? | Applicable legal metrology rules and evidence that the exact equipment is approved for that use. | Legal-for-trade approval. |
How should product evidence be separated from workplace duties?
Start with the buyer's role and intended task. A distributor or importer assessing placement on the Great Britain market has different evidence responsibilities from an employer deciding workplace use. One organisation may hold both roles, but the questions remain separate. Record who owns each decision.
For product evidence, confirm the exact model, market, regulations, marking and supporting documents. Do not assume that a supplier-described “CE certificate” is automatically every document required by the applicable regime. Read it and resolve mismatches with the supplier or a competent product-compliance adviser.
For workplace use, follow the instructions and authorised processes. Confirm total suspended load, component ratings, upper and lower interfaces, load seating, alignment, installed length and headroom. The forged hook and safety latch do not correct an unsuitable connection. This article does not replace training, risk assessment, lifting plan, inspection, thorough examination or competent-person decisions.
For measurement use, state what follows from the reading. A 0.5 kg stated accuracy may be relevant to an internal check, but it is not a calibration result or trade approval. Where acceptance depends on traceability, tolerance, a certificate or approved instrument, make that evidence a purchase condition.
What questions should be answered before ordering?
Ask which exact P6 document supports the CE claim and whether its identification matches the offered unit. Establish the market, applicable regulations and buyer's supply-chain role. Then confirm who owns the complete arrangement's capacity, fit, planning, inspection and examination decisions.
Finally, define whether the reading is only an internal process check or supports a decision requiring calibration, traceability or legal-for-trade approval. Do not order until each mandatory document and responsibility has an accountable answer.
Frequently asked questions
Does a CE mark mean a crane scale is endorsed by HSE?
No. CE marking is not an HSE endorsement. HSE guidance addresses separate employer and workplace duties for lifting equipment and operations.
Does the confirmed CE certificate include calibration or proof-load evidence?
No such inclusion is confirmed. Calibration and proof-load records answer different questions and must be requested separately when required.
Can CE marking be treated as UKCA marking?
No. They are distinct markings. Great Britain currently recognises CE marking for a range of regulations, but the applicable route must be checked for the exact product and market. UKCA status is not confirmed for the P6.
Does CE marking make the P6 legal for trade?
No. The P6 is not stated to be legal for trade. Where weight determines price or another regulated transaction, verify the applicable rules and approved-equipment requirements.
Review the confirmed facts and required evidence
After confirming the applicable market route, lifting responsibilities and any calibration, proof-load or trade-use documents your process requires, review the confirmed P6 product facts and current product information. If any required evidence or intended-use decision remains unresolved, obtain confirmation before ordering.
Ready to try CraneScale?
Shop Now — £274.48