Before Buying a 3000 kg Hanging Scale: A UK Specification Checklist

Before buying a 3000 kg hanging scale, record the total suspended load, connection geometry, available headroom, required measurement performance, workplace exposure and document needs. A capacity figure on its own does not confirm that a scale fits the task or the lifting arrangement. Use this checklist to decide whether to buy, request missing details or select another option.
Additional manual details: The supplied OCS manual lists kg, lb and N unit selection, Hold, Zero/Tare, display-brightness adjustment, Add/totalisation and Inquiry for the last 10 weighing records. It gives a 3–7 second reading-stabilisation time and a -10°C to 40°C service-temperature range. These are manual-stated operating details; follow the supplied instructions for the exact unit.
Have you recorded the complete suspended load?
Write down the heaviest item that may be weighed, then add every component whose weight will pass through the scale. Depending on the arrangement, that can include a container, lifting beam, sling, shackle or other attachment below the scale. Use verified values for the intended configuration rather than a typical item weight.
The P6 has a rated capacity of 3,000 kg. That is the maximum total suspended load through the scale, not simply the net contents after pressing Tare. Tare can remove a known container or attachment weight from the displayed reading, but the physical load remains present and does not create extra capacity.
Record unusual as well as routine loads. If a purchasing team only checks the usual product batch, an occasional heavier container or different lifting accessory can be missed. Where the maximum cannot be established, pause the purchase decision until the site has defined the real upper boundary.
A scale rating also does not certify the rest of the lifting system. The crane, hoist, lifting point, shackles, scale and every connection need to be independently suitable, and the complete arrangement must be considered by the people responsible for the task. Do not infer a system working load limit from the scale nameplate.
Do the lifting ring, hook and available headroom fit?
Capacity cannot answer a geometry question. Ask for the upper lifting-ring dimensions, lower hook opening and throat, connection path, installed length and any required clearance. Record the actual connecting hardware and the space available between the lifting point and the top of the load.
Check how the load will seat in the lower hook and how the upper connection will align. The load path should remain vertical, with no plan based on side pull, hook-tip loading or a forced connection. A safety latch can help retain a correctly seated connection, but it cannot make an unsuitable interface acceptable.
The confirmed P6 information does not state the ring dimensions, hook dimensions, installed length or whether a particular shackle is supplied. Photographs can help identify what to measure, but they are not dimensional evidence. Submit the required connection and headroom measurements for confirmation before ordering.
This is a procurement check, not a rigging tutorial. Final selection and use must follow manufacturer instructions, training, the site risk assessment, lifting plan, inspection arrangements and decisions made by competent people.
Does the stated accuracy suit the decision?
Define what the reading will be used to decide. An internal receiving check, batch comparison or approximate load confirmation can have a different requirement from process control, certification or a transaction based on weight. State the acceptable uncertainty and the records your organisation requires before comparing products.
The P6 has a stated accuracy of 0.5 kg. That figure should not be rewritten as display division, guaranteed error, calibration status or legal approval. Ask separately whether your procedure requires traceable calibration, a calibration certificate, a defined verification method or legal-for-trade approval.
Do not buy the P6 on the assumption that such evidence is included: a calibration certificate and legal-for-trade status are not stated. If the decision has contractual, regulatory or financial consequences, have the responsible person define the evidence before equipment selection. Choosing first and asking later can leave a technically readable display that does not satisfy the actual process.
What environment and documents must procurement check?
Describe the real exposure rather than using a single label such as outdoor or industrial. Note whether the scale may encounter rain, wash-down, spray, condensation, dust, temperature extremes or a hazardous atmosphere. Also record where it will be stored and charged, whether the front display can be seen and where the operator normally stands.
The P6 front/display area is described as waterproof and the supplier states that the scale can be soaked; no certified IP rating is stated. Keep those statements together. If the specification calls for an IP code or documentary ingress-protection evidence, this product information does not meet that requirement by implication.
A CE mark is present and a CE certificate has been confirmed. The CE information does not establish UKCA certification, LOLER certification, HSE approval, calibration, proof-load testing or legal-for-trade approval. List each document needed by procurement, safety, quality and measurement stakeholders, then mark it confirmed only when the relevant evidence has been reviewed.
Power planning may also affect suitability. The P6 uses a rechargeable 6V 1.3Ah battery, with a stated runtime of 40–50 hours and charging time of about four hours. It can operate while charging, but that should not be used to justify a cable across an access route, charging in a wet area or charging while a load is suspended.
Should you buy, confirm first or choose another option?
Complete one shared checklist rather than relying on separate assumptions held by purchasing, operations and safety staff. The following fields create a concise enquiry that a supplier and the responsible site personnel can review.
- Load: maximum item weight, container weight and every accessory below the scale, with the source of each value.
- Lifting arrangement: crane or hoist, lifting point, upper connector, lower connection and rated components proposed for the complete path.
- Fit: required ring and hook geometry, shackle path, load seating, alignment, installed length and available headroom.
- Measurement: purpose of the reading, acceptable accuracy, required units, recording method and any calibration or legal-metrology requirement.
- Environment: wet, dust, temperature and hazardous-area exposure, normal sightline, control position, storage and dry charging location.
- Documents: instructions, declarations, certificates, inspection records or internal approvals required before use.
- Decision: mark every field as confirmed, pending supplier confirmation or unsuitable. Do not convert a blank field into a pass.
Proceed to product comparison when the combined suspended load is within the required capacity, the physical interface and headroom are confirmed, the stated measurement performance suits the decision and the available evidence meets the organisation's requirements. The P6 may then be a candidate for an internal suspended load-checking process.
Confirm first when one or more dimensions, connecting items, viewing conditions, environmental requirements or documents remain unknown. Choose another option when the load can exceed 3,000 kg, a platform method is more appropriate, certified IP evidence is mandatory, a remote weight display is needed or the intended use requires approvals not stated for the P6.
Compare your completed checklist with the confirmed P6 specification. Submit any unresolved total-load, connection, headroom, intended-use and document requirements before ordering.
Ready to try CraneScale?
Shop Now — £274.48